Kapoor & Sons (Since 1921) | Review


Kapoor_and_Sons_look

Kapoor & Sons is about a troubled family who all abandon their separate lives to stay with their granddad in their family home in Coonoor. Their grandad, lovingly referred to as Daddu, has just suffered from a heart attack and wishes to take one last happy photo with his family which says “Kapoor & Sons (Since 1921)” below it. However, there are so many problems in this family (as they all lie to each other about different issues) that it is really difficult to get them all to be happy. I am not going to tell you what all of the secrets are as you need to watch the film for that. Although I will say that all the lies will play with your heart strings because of the superb acting, script and direction.

Have a look at the trailer (it has English subtitles!):

Even though the film is very dramatic, it still has moments of light humour which are immensely enjoyable. My favourite moments were mostly the ones with Daddu (the granddad – played by Rishi Kapoor) who is so immature and carefree. This carefree spirit in Daddu and Tia (played by Alia Bhatt) can ease the tension in the film. Other than that, the second half of the film is so upsetting that you might just need some tissues beside you just in case somebody starts cutting some onions… IF you know what I mean. >.<

Fawad Khan, who plays the perfect son named Rahul Kapoor, was outstanding in the film. You will leave the film wanting to binge watch all of Fawad Khan’s films but then realise he has only done one other Bollywood film. Fawad Khan needs to sign on a load of films so I can watch them! He is brilliant in the most vulnerable scenes and you can see him suffer due to his secret in a few glimpses before it is revealed. I also would like to add that I like the way they reveal his secret as it is subtle but still hard hitting. He plays his character with utmost sincerity and the scenes where he begins to distance from his mother (played by Ratna Pathak) are so distressing. It is distressing as you are compelled to compare these scenes to the first half of the film where he is constantly hugging his mother and is living up to his label as perfect son.

Rishi Kapoor as the granddad was my second favourite cast member. He was cheeky, charming and cute. He shows a whole scope of emotions throughout the film and you can’t help but love a granddad who is living his last moments with a huge smile on his face.

Alia Bhatt was splendid in the film as the vivacious Tia. She doesn’t get as many opportunities as the others to show an emotional scope however she does make the most of the little opportunities she gets. Her one scene talking to Arjun (played by Sidharth Malhotra) where she reveals her secrets shows you a different side of Tia which makes you admire her chirpy personality a whole lot more. She also teaches the audience a life lesson in this scene which people should watch the film for.

I was slightly disappointed with Sidharth Malhotra who played the loser son (in better terms) named Arjun Kapoor. He was surrounded by such a talented cast that it was easier to notice his inability to shine when the spotlight was on him. As an audience member, you would be aware that you have to feel sorry for Arjun because of what he was saying but you wouldn’t FEEL sorry for him because Sidharth failed to express the pain he endured as the loser son. With that said, I wouldn’t say he was terrible but he definitely wasn’t the highlight of the film.

The parents, Harsh and Sunita (played by Rajat Kapoor and Ratna Pathak), felt like a real married couple. You feel sorry for both of them and you cannot pick a side as both actors make you sympathise with them separately due to their individual problems. You long for them to work out but the film is so realistic that you begin to accept that you wouldn’t be surprised if they don’t as that’s how it would be in real life. Ratna Pathak, who played Sunita, expresses a lot of her pain through the song Saathi Rey. I won’t link that song here and I’d advise you not to watch it on Youtube yet as it is best to watch it in the film where you can experience the scenes which lead up to that moment.

Finally, the cinematography and the music in the film was excellent. I had never heard of a place called Coonoor in India before this film but now I want to go there! Furthermore, the soundtrack during the sad or tense parts in the film have the ability to trigger some tears whilst a song like Buddhu Sa Mann can make you feel as if this family can get along and be happy if they really tried.

The music video of Bolna is minimalistic and doesn’t reveal too much about the film. Also, it is sung by Arijit Singh so what’s not to love?

The choreography of Kar Gayi Chull was great to watch as the moves looked so easy and trendy.

I would recommend this film to everyone since it is so realistic and so beautifully made. It is a character driven film and these films are great when the acting is great (which it is) so go watch it! I would rate the film 5/5. It looks as if all the Bollywood films I have watched this year have been awesome since I haven’t rated any of them lower than that so far. Good on ya, Bollywood! Although, I think I should start writing some reviews for the Hollywood films I’ve seen too… What do you think?

18 thoughts on “Kapoor & Sons (Since 1921) | Review

  1. Loved your review!! I also wish Fawad Khan had more Bollywood movies to watch. After Khoobsurat, I watched all of his Pakistani soap Humsafar on ErosNow.com (which has English subtitles). It is excellent. The actress, Mahira Khan, in it who plays his wife, will be co-starring with Shahrukh in the upcoming Raees.

    1. Everyone on my Twitter is telling me to watch his dramas so I might this summer! I heard he’s going to be in Ae Dil Hai Mushkil so cannot wait for that. 🙂

  2. It’s quite coincidental, when you’re writing about ‘Kapoor & Sons’, I wrote about the movie sessions I enjoyed recently. Though I hadn’t written any movie reviews in my blog previously. I went to theatre after such a long time to watch ‘The Man Who Knew Infinity’ 🙂

      1. It was great! The potrayal, screenplay, cinematography – all were very intimidating. Kind of science student that I am, it’s much more amusing. I did a lot of research after coming back and still carrying out some. Anyway I’m quite fascinated by Number Theory.

        I didn’t write the review per se because I don’t want to spoil even a bit of it but I did write something pertaining to movie in my recent blog post – https://thevindicatedaxiom.wordpress.com/2016/05/09/running-the-movie-marathon-its-okay-sometimes/

        See if you could something more 🙂

  3. I have been wanting to watch this for weeks now- your review is geeat and I can’t wait to watch it now! Also I agree that Bolna is a great song 🙂

♥ Comment ♥

