Bajirao Mastani | Review


Bajirao_Mastani_Poster_2

This review is well overdue as I watched Bajirao Mastani on Christmas Eve and it is now 2016. However, I am still adamant to do this review because I have so many wonderful things to say about this magnum opus of a film. Please note that I am not a movie expert haha! I am merely doing this for fun.

The film is about an undefeated warrior named Peshwa Bajirao (a historic figure) who gets defeated by his undying love for his wife and a warrior princess named Mastani. This film revolves around the love triangle that forms between them three. It is captivating, heart-breaking and sweet all at once. The roller-coaster of emotions that you feel are mostly down to the acting from the powerful three: Ranveer Singh, Deepika Padukone and Priyanka Chopra. To be honest, even the supporting actors fulfil their role to its optimum. However, I do feel that Tanvi Azmi could have been a little better at times. Her feelings towards her son, Bajirao, and his affair with Mastani just got really confusing at some points in the film. Although, props to her for being bold enough to go bald for her role in the film. That takes a lot of guts!

I have no complaints for Ranveer Singh. You immediately love Ranveer the moment you are introduced to his character as Bajirao. The way he walks, the way he talks and the many emotions he can express in just one shot. Outstanding performance! I cannot imagine anyone to have been Bajirao apart from him after watching this film. Not to forget, his energetic song ‘Malhari’ has been playing on repeat since watching this film. Vishal Dadlani was the perfect choice to sing that song!

I have a mixture of feelings towards Deepika Padukone. Yes: she looked amazing as Mastani was said to be, she had BRILLIANT fighting scenes and delivered her dialogues beautifully. No: she was a bit stiff in her dancing and some scenes. I wish she had a larger palette of expressions during this film as other characters had. With that said, her pairing with Ranveer was phenomenal as always. I’d love to watch them again! My favourite scene of hers was when she was fighting with a sword whilst holding a baby. That was a faultless scene and made me feel like Deepika has always been a trained warrior haha. I’d also like to add that you are made vulnerable to care for the three main characters in the film. You don’t hate any one of them even though this is quite an unfortunate love triangle.

If you didn’t know then I’ll let you know now that I’ve written a post on Deepika’s makeup look in this song below. Click HERE to read it.

Priyanka Chopra was spectacular in all aspects apart from the Pinga song which I will go into more detail later on. The reasons why I loved her as Kashibai, Bajirao’s wife,  is because she gave the most compared to the other actors in terms of expressions. You could tell exactly how Kashi was feeling just by having one glimpse of her face. So, props to Priyanka! It’s jaw-dropping to think that she acted this role alongside being Alex Parrish for Quantico in USA for ABC at the same time. GO Priyanka! Along with this, her dialogues were phenomenal too. Her and Ranveer both got their Marathi dialect spot on. The most dubsmashed dialogue being her ‘Aap humse hamari zindagi maang lethe hum aapko kushi kushi de dete, par aapne toh humse hamara guroor cheen liya hai’ (Meaning: If you had asked for my life, I would have given it to you with a smile. But you just stripped me of my pride.)

The Pinga song, on its own, looks brilliant in the promos etc. In fact, I thought Priyanka was AMAZING in the promos for that song! However, in the cinema, when you see it being played within context; her expressions just didn’t make sense in some points of the song. Without spoiling anything, I’ll just say that the lyrics and their conversation before the song plays didn’t coincide with Priyanka’s massive smile throughout the song. However, I will say that Deepika’s expressions were accurate according to the song and the context it was in. The two aren’t renowned for their dancing so I can understand those who would think that other actresses like Madhuri could have done it better but you have to give them credit for trying and not being trained dancers.

I will like to say that the music of this film is outstanding. All the songs are shot beautifully, sung beautifully and are SO catchy. This album consists some of the best songs from 2015 for me.

Sanjay Leela Bhansali waited over 10 years to make this film and it was definitely worth the wait. I can admit that I have been harsh when reviewing this film as I have picked up on the very small things but these things really don’t matter when you watch the overall product. One weak scene will later be followed by a doubly outstanding scene. Also, any weak scenes were pretty rare in the film. There are countlesss scenes which will leave you astounded. Especially the scenes between Ranveer and Priyanka. My favourite being when they are sitting together and Kashi (Priyanka) is telling a story about Krishna and Radha to Bajirao (Ranveer). Along with the scenes, all the locations looked beautiful. The Aina Mahel being one of my favourites. You can see it in the ‘Deewani Mastani’ song. That set is so pretty that it is not going to be taken down. They have decided to keep it as a museum!

All in all, everything really satisfied my £10 cinema ticket needs. The hours whizzed by in the cinema and I was left in awe when the film ended. There could have been little improvements to make this even better than the fantastic piece of art it is but even without them, it is a 5/5 from me. I would recommend and I want to go again! Watch the trailer (it has english subtitles) and get a taste of it too then quickly catch it in cinemas.

13 thoughts on “Bajirao Mastani | Review

    1. Woo! Everyone keeps going on about how graceful she was but I felt like she wasn’t as graceful as she needed to be. Honestly think Priyanka and Ranveer stole the show. They were phenomenal!

      1. I don’t think she’s the same in all her movies as she has given some outstanding performances previously. However, I do notice sometimes that there is something missing. Although, credit given where credit is due, she is phenomenal at transforming into another character. She’s always spot on with her accents!

  1. Pingback: 500 – MΛNIKUI

♥ Comment ♥

